Touch em’ All Tom

December 7 – Don’t forget to send me your thoughts on this year’s hot stove action at dbacksbooth@aol.com.

Let’s start with a note from a valley baseball fan:

ScullyI was a HUGE Dodger fan from 1962 until 1998 and the arrival of the Dbacks.  I was a big fan of your dad, and living here in Az, I learned baseball from the great one Vin Scully.  It’s my guess that growing up hearing Vin, some of his positives must be ingrained in you.  I have not heard you do a game, and I am sure you are your own man, but anyone that has listened to Vin much has a hard time not using a phrase now and again. I know growing up listening to Vin Scully sets a high expectation but an announcer getting in the way of the game is the worst thing you can do in my opinion. I am looking forward to hearing you and I am enjoying the blog very much.  The trade is great by the way!! 
-Lloyd C., Peoria, AZ

Scully2 Thanks for the note Lloyd and I absolutely listened to Vin Scully my entire childhood and I am now honored to call him a colleague. I am officially old enough to have listened to the small transistor radio next to my pillow long after I was supposed to be in dream state. My first few years as a broadcaster, Vin took the time to open his booth to me on several occasions and imparted invaluable advice. To put it simply, he made it clear that all announcers should be true to themselves and their personalities. There is no doubt that an occasional “a way back and gone” may sneak into my home run call, much like Vin still steps to when a Dodger clears the wall, and it’s been like that my entire life and many of yours.

NotesOne of my true mentors, Norman Baer, used to tell the story of Vin sending hand written notes to those in his path that offered assistance, friendship or kindness. To me that sums up what any announcer or any person, for that matter, can take from Vin Scully. Always try to carry yourself with professionalism, class and kindness and your light should continue to shine brightly. It is safe to say his has.

Cheek3This brings me to another golden voice that an entire nation no longer has the joy of hearing. Tom Cheek is one of ten finalists for the Ford C. Frick Award presented each year to a broadcaster who has made a major contribution to the game. The list of legends is an awe inspiring collection of some of the games greatest voices: http://www.baseballhalloffame.org/hofers_and_honorees/frick_bios/index.htm.
CheekCheek called Toronto Blue Jays games for 27 years, a streak that began at the franchise’s birth and carried for 4,306 consecutive games. He was an instructor to an entire nation and the elective course was Baseball 101. Tom was a man who was large in voice, body and heart, yet was small in ego. Cancer took him from all of us in 2005 and this year should be his year in Cooperstown.

Cheek2My relationship with Tom was certainly unique, as I played college baseball with his son Jeff in Alabama and later in life became a fellow broadcaster with dad in the big leagues. I still call Jeff one of my best friends and we talk often about the classy way his dad carried himself at home and at work. There are many of us that owe Tom Cheek a great deal and not all of us are Canadians, though those north of the border will always save a place in there heart for that unforgettable voice. Now his place should be in our hearts and along side all of the legendary voices in Cooperstown.

There are many that share this perspective:

http://slam.canoe.ca/Slam/Baseball/MLB/Toronto/2006/12/07/2670326-sun.html

http://www.thestar.com/NASApp/cs/ContentServer?pagename=thestar/Layout/Article_Type1&c=Article&cid=1165359015249&call_pageid=968867503640&col=970081593064&t=TS_Home

Finally, as the winter meetings wrap up here are some of your thoughts on the recent trade that brought left handed starting pitcher Doug Davis to town. Almost all of you liked it…almost:

Davis4Love the trade! I really think that pitchers in particular can have much different results in different settings. I think or hope that March will show Doug that he doesn’t have to pinpoint his pitches so finely that he can relax with a strong defense behind him that will result in a strong combination of k’s and ground ball outs.
-Bill G., Thousand Oaks, CA

EstradaWhat trade are you talking about? The new guy with the broken bones or Johnny Estrada, by the way what does the phrase "fallen out with the organization” mean? I would give anything to see the Dbacks win something this year but………..I will always love them.
-Carol, Yuma, AZ

This trade was a BLESSING to the D-Backs.  This is something the D-Backs haven’t had for two years or so a lefty starter. So if it only took two inconsistent pitchers and a good catcher to receive a lefty starter who happens to eat up innings and another lefty pitcher and a young outfielder. I say the D-Backs just received a Christmas present a little early and look for Santa Clause to give them a few more.
-Darren, Chandler, AZ
                        
SantaHopefully this 6 player trade with the Brewers will not be as one-sided as the last one was. What do we have to show for that one again? Oh yeah, that’s right, nothing. I like the trade. Estrada clearly was on his way out. So far I like Josh Byrnes a lot. He clearly has a plan to be competitive on a budget and it is very interesting to see the moves he has made so far.
-Steve M., Peoria, AZ

First off, welcome to the desert.  In all trades, you got to give something to get something. As a DBack fan since day one, it’s tough to give up the first bona fide offensive catcher this franchise ever had.  This was always a huge hole in our offense.The last monster trade we made with the Brewers, (Richie Sexon) was great for the Brewers and not so great for us.  We’ll hope this is no repeat.  As others have said, let’s hope Doug Davis works out better than Russ Ortiz.
-Paul, Phoenix, AZ

I am a 12 year old boy who intently follows baseball and especially the D-backs. I think that the new arm of Doug Davis is good but in order to make it work they need to give him a multi-year deal.                         
–Elliot

JerrymaguiremoneyI am sure Doug appreciates having a “junior” agent, especially the way this winter has played out thus far. See you soon!

2 comments

  1. orangecowsrock@cox.net

    What is the point of signing Davis long term? If they would sign anyone long term, it should be Livan Hernandez. He has thrown over 200 innings for nine straight years, and he has post-season experience. The Diamondbacks also have Gregory Smith, Enrique Gonzalez, Dana Eveland, etc. in their organization, so why keep a guy until he is 34, when they could keep a guy who is younger and cheaper?

Leave a comment